RSS

Lessons From My Father

18 Mar

 

All of last week I did a series of blogs in which I shared some of the lessons I have learned from my father. To be entirely honest I have been surprised at just how much that series of blogs resonated with my peers. It has been greatly encouraging. The feedback I have gotten has only made me appreciate the man even more. I have also felt vindicated for having the courage not only to write those lessons down but also for having shared them. I often worried that maybe I was just indulging the nostalgia junkie in me with all the trips I was taking down memory lane. That no one really cared much for the high esteem in which I hold my dad. The rest of the time I felt I wasn’t playing my own little beautiful games with the language. But I was very wrong. Many of of the lessons had an almost universal appeal. And I also learned that sometimes simply sharing a story that resonates is the most beautiful game you can play with words.

The irony is that even though I have been blessed to have such an amazing father and role model I haven’t always looked at it from that perspective. As I’ve hinted at before on this blog, growing up I was a mama’s boy. My mum coddled me and I almost always had my way with her. My dad on the other hand was the tough one. The disciplinarian. Even though he always made a point of saying “well done”, he would no sooner point out that I could do even better. And I resented this. But he would go on to remind me that I had one father and he was the one person in my life that would always tell it like it is. He would say that some day I would be thankful that I had him by my side to navigate this crazy little thing called life. I never thought that day would come.

But here we are many years later and I am proudly writing about those very things he has always tried to instill in me. A lot of that has to do with the fact that I am more conscious of the kind of man I want to be and with that came the realisation that I already had a blueprint for that in my father. As a result the older I have gotten the more I have started to see the wisdom in my dads words to a younger me.

Ever since I turned 30 I have found myself thinking more and more about the kind of man I am and the kind of father I would like to be one day. What started out as a quest to celebrate my father’s impact on my life snowballed into me sharing those lessons with readers of this blog. Many conversations have grown out of that and I realise that I am not alone in my experiences. More importantly I have also reminded myself of many of those lessons. The challenge now lies in actively applying them to my own life.

In case you might have missed them I have shared links to all the blogs in the series Lessons From My Father below

1. A Few Good Men

2. Let’s Talk About Sex

3. Put That Woman First

4. My Very Own House Of Stones

5. Head of The Household

6. I’ll Never Let My Son Have An Ego

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
