RSS

Why I Am Retiring The Mad Scientist…

12 May

You may have noticed that the header/blog title of this blog has changed recently from ‘The Mad Scientist’ to ‘Moonwalking With My Muse’. If you hadn’t noticed oh well, now you know. From day one when I set up this space it was mainly a space I wanted to use to share my random thoughts as well as a platform for me to reignite my passion for the art of writing. The story I have never told is that of how this blog initially came to be called ‘The Mad Scientist’. That is a story I will briefly touch on today.

‘The Mad Scientist’ was always the name of this blog. Initially and for a long time before I actually wrote anything down the idea was to call this blog ‘Thinkermode’. I know. Very creative of me. Thing is though during its inception that was basically the premise of the blog. For me to share my thoughts. But when I set out to write the first draft of my first ever blog I had the first of many flirtations with my muse and in a flash of inspiration I changed my mind and opted for the ‘Mad Scientist’, a moniker which spoke to my unease at referring to myself as a writer at the time. One of the reasons I hadn’t written in so long was because I had boxed myself into the narrow definition of just being a scientist. I had allowed my university qualification in Biotechnology to limit who I could be or what I could do. I was a scientist. I had no business writing or being creative in the ‘I am a creative’ sense at all.

So when I finally worked up the courage to pick up the pen again for the first time since I had begun studying for my degree it was this reasoning that was pivotal in me subsequently calling this blog ‘The Mad Scientist’. At the time I fancied myself quite the revolutionary for ‘daring’ to write at all. Little did I know that I was not the first science profession to have such a Eureka moment and dabble in the art of writing. There have been many before me and it turns out I am not so revolutionary after all. I am just a passionate human being doing one of the many things he loves.

During the life of the blog It has been many things to me. But most importantly and what I have enjoyed the most during the time I have written on this blog has been the many times I have danced with my muse within the margins of the blank page. I have never once discussed or written about anything remotely scientific. Quite the opposite. This was a space I escaped from being a scientist from. If anything this space became the gym in which I initially stretched and over the long term eventually worked out my creative muscles. It is a place I often retreated to nostalgia in a quest to find myself within myself and it is in those moments that I moonwalked with my muse.
The things I have written about have been varied and over that period my perception of what a writer is and who qualifies as one has evolved as well. The way I see it a writer is basically anyone who writes consistently and coherently. Looking back that is what this blog has really been about and I no longer feel an unease at calling myself a writer. And that is why I am retiring ‘The Mad Scientist’. From now on this writer will be moonwalking with his muse …

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Why I Am Retiring The Mad Scientist…

  1. Thandi

    May 12, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    i really enjoy reading your blog..glad i came across it

     
    • The Mad Scientist

      May 13, 2014 at 11:40 am

      Thank you. Glad you enjoy reading my words. It means a lot.

       
  2. JulyWrites

    May 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    For a brief moment I thought you were quitting writing completely. Kinda read the post fast in a panic.

     
    • The Mad Scientist

      May 13, 2014 at 4:39 pm

      Hahaha, I could never quit writing. No need to panic:) On most days it’s what keeps me sane and gives me clarity and that’s enough to keep me writing. And it’s an added bonus and the biggest compliment that you would go into a mini panic at the very thought of me letting my pen fall asleep on the page for good. As always, thank you for reading.

       

Leave a Reply

 
